Back in February I posted about switching my kit layout.  I moved from a Peart-esque configuration to a more ’70s / ’80s rock rack setup.  Part of this was just because I like to change things up a bit.  Part was because I wanted to try to eliminate the chasm between my last rack tom and my first floor tom.

There were a lot of good things for me with this setup.  The most beneficial was that I was able to move my 8″ and 10″ toms from my left side to a more forward position.  This reduced the need to turn my body to the left when doing a run down the toms.

I was also able to position the hi-hat more easily to avoid taking the finish off of my smaller toms.

The nicest thing for me, though, was having my 2 main rack toms, the 12″ and the 13″, positioned directly in front of me.  This differs from my old setup in that in the past only the 13″ was in front of me and the 12″ tom was offset to the left.  As I mentioned in the previous article, having the toms set up this way allows me to move from my kit to a reduced kit in the setup-du-jour without any problem.

Well, after playing this setup for several weeks I decided that it wasn’t for me.  The biggest downer was the Ride cymbal’s new position.  It’s amazing what a difference a few inches make.  Having to keep my right arm elevated to strike the Ride was (literally) a pain.  In addition, somewhere along the line I grew used to the chasm between the rack and floor toms.  Having the 13″ tom to my right didn’t quite feel right.

What I needed was a compromise so here’s what I did;  I returned the kit to its mostly previous setup with a major exception.  I offset the kick drum to the right.  It’s on about the same angle you’d use if you were using 2 kick drums.  This allows me to put the stand containing my 12″ and 13″ rack toms directly in front of me.  It also allows me to put the ride cymbal back in its lower position over the kick.

In addition I’m now able to move the 10″ and 12″ toms towards the front of the kit.  This means I don’t have to crank my body around hard to the left to start a run down the toms.  Mind you, for kicks I added my Roto-Toms to the set so to start a run down them I really have to crank to the left.  They likely won’t stay though.

Anyhow, that’s how my drums are set up now.  Will this setup last?  We’ll see.  So far it’s been a few weeks and I’m really loving it!

